Decorating for Thanksgiving

            Are you looking for some Thanksgiving inspired decorating ideas? I know I’ve always had a hard time figuring out just how to decorate for this holiday. Sure, it might seem simple enough, leaves, pumpkins, and cornucopias, but I’ve never really known how to put it all together. So, I’ve searched the internet for some beautiful and classic decorating ideas to help you get into this holiday spirit!

Fall Hurricane Vase 

Candle Vase

http://www.amandajanebrown.com/2011/09/fall-decorating-with-hurricane-vases.html

Candles always add a note of elegance to any celebration. Placing holiday scented pillar candles in these decorated vases gives you a simple yet beautiful centerpiece to your Thanksgiving table. If you really like this idea, you can also use three tiered vases and create a small pool of autumn leaves or flowers to set them on.

The Thankful Tree

thanks tree

http://www.simplyvintagegirl.com/blog/?s=the+thankful+tree&x=12&y=15

I love this idea! It is so simple and unique! This is the first time I have seen this idea and I hope to do it for this Thanksgiving. It is, as the title says, a tree of thanks. After all, that is what Thanksgiving is all about. All your family and friends can write what they are thankful for on a piece of chip wood and hang it on the tree.

Fall Mantle

Fall-Mantel

http://myblessedlife.net/2012/09/fall-mantel.html

What a gorgeous idea, right? Unfortunately, I don’t have a mantle place, but each element can be separated or moved to fit your home. The banner would look perfect above a picture window. And that basket of pumpkins, how much easier could it be?

Pumpkin Floral Arrangement

floral arrangement

http://www.countryliving.com/crafts/projects/fresh-pumpkin-centerpiece

I can admit, I have never been good at arranging flowers, but this centerpiece is just lovely! The creator of this piece gives directions using a real pumpkin and flowers. This makes for a very elegant centerpiece. However, you can create a similar piece by using an artificial pumpkin you can get at craft stores and silk flowers. This way you don’t have to spend a small fortune on real flowers.

Don’t forget the kids!

kids good-things-placemat-mld107720_vert

http://thefrugalhomemaker.com/2012/11/14/20-thanksgiving-kids-table-ideas/

If this isn’t the cutest Thanksgiving kids table, well, I don’t know what is! Where was this when I was a kid? “The Frugal Homemaker” has some adorable and fun ideas for the kids this holiday. If you’re planning on having lots of kids over for your Thanksgiving dinner, check out this blog. She offers ideas on crafts, coloring placemats, and desserts!

I hope this has helped you with your Thanksgiving holiday or at least given you some new decorating ideas! Now, if you’ll excuse me, I think I’ll go find this kids’ table and get a head start on coloring my own turkey placemat.

Leave a Reply

